iPad Mini-mize. Nokia Lumia Maximize.

lumia1025-1

Intro

From the room-sized computers in the past to the invisible cloud storage services today, the tech-world, as we know it, is shrinking. Tablets are shrinking and phones are expanding, meeting at a point that we lovingly call ‘Phablets’. But along with the tablets, I personally think so are the profits, turnovers, market-growth and eventually the potential as well.

Why do I think so? Here’s why.

Demand vs over-supply.

Some love it for the innovation, some like the simplicity, and some just for the experience. But the iPhone will remain a great product for me for an altogether different reason. The fact that it came last and still had the ability to change the game completely is something I really admire about it.
That was 2007. This is 2013. Today, there are almost all major OEMs in the market producing mobile devices, more than 10 OSs to choose from, and countless options for a single requirement, leaving us more perplexed than confident of what we are choosing.

There is a growing demand for mobile devices no doubt, but there is also an over-supply. And companies can’t afford to rest on their laurels, being constantly on their toes.
So amidst this tumult, Nokia, the Finnish behemoth who refuses to die down, has joined the ranks of Apple and Google and, from what the leaked screenshots show, is building a 10” tablet (codenamed Sirius) and a 6” phablet (codenamed Bandit).

The question is, is it worth it? Or are they too late to the party.

The party is over. Or is it?

Alleged specs tell us the 6” phablet, now dubbed 1520, is going to be a Lumia phone on steroids. With a 2GB RAM, a full 1020 display and a high end Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, this is going to be at par with some of the leading rival brand phablets out there.

But in this world of over-supply, what counts as ‘enough’ to make me throw away what I have and go for what you are selling?
Here’s what.

It’s tennis, but without rackets and balls.

The scenario today is a lot like a tennis match. You are winning. Not because you are playing exceptionally well, but because your opponent is not. In other words, his weakness, could prove to be your strength.
And my iPad Mini might just be on the failing side this time. The biggest reasons why I would do away with my iPad Mini is iOS 7. It is not only hideous, it is also appalling, ridiculous, embarrassing and “childish”. The icons suck, the animations are sub-standard and the overall look and feel is just a mish-mash of all the things I never want to see on my device.

The second reason is usage. Let’s accept it, everything ages with time. People, monuments, cars. So why not gadgets? I don’t want to be holding a device that is forgotten even by the very company that built it. The specs, in this rapidly developing tech-world, are outdone in no time. I am not saying I won’t be able to play my favorite racing game, or won’t be able to download a very important app. But still, after a while, it loses its charm. All the more with a hideous looking OS on it.

And the third reason could simply be to evolve. Being on both sides of the world, I have realized that the scenario on both iOS and Windows OS is more or less the same in terms of “customization” and flexibility. The company controls (limits actually) my usage by telling me what is “out-of-bounds” for me. But it’s the price you pay for having a smooth OS on the other hand.
So I want to evolve with time, improving my choices over time.
So, sitting on my chair, staring at the wall before me, I ask myself, “What options do I have?”
Enter the Nokia Lumia 1520. The Finnish giant, now a part of Microsoft, couldn’t hold itself back, for all the right reasons.

Outro

I currently have (love) my Lumia 820. And with the specs I am seeing, if they turn out to be true, the 1520 may very well be where I merge my reading-on-a-tablet experience with a making-a-call one.
I will finally carry a lighter bag, but have a slightly heavier pocket. But in the end, I will be happier to see my favorite OS build a great product that I can truly use for not one, but many things. And reading being one of the most important.

In this shrinking world, let me take a small step towards this trend.

Leave a Reply

